Therese Humbert case. How the scam of the century was matured by a woman, near Toulouse

02/12/2022 By acomputer 403 Views

Therese Humbert case. How the scam of the century was matured by a woman, near Toulouse

By Laurent DernePublished on
News Toulouse
See my news

Our series on major criminal and judicial cases in Occitania

Until Sunday, we bring you to the heart of major criminal and judicial cases in Occitania. Here is the first part of this series, devoted to the Thérèse Humbert affair, the scam of the century which was matured by a woman, near Toulouse. This Thursday, we will tell you about the Martin Guerre affair which took place in Ariège. Good reading !Thérèse Humbert case. How the scam of the century was matured by a woman, near Toulouse Thérèse Humbert case. How the scam of the century was matured by a woman, near Toulouse

Doubtless never has the opening of a trunk been so watched. One would swear the birth of a queen to perpetuate the line of the Bourbons under the oblique and scrutinizing gaze of the courtiers of the first circle.

Also read

All eyes riveted on a safe

On May 2, 1902, it wasn't just a few pairs of zealous paralegals' eyes that focused on the thick armored door, but indeed the whole of France.

Because if its owner slipped away before the police arrived, Thérèse Humbert’s reputation and fame have made her a recognized figure in Tout Paris. And like Arsène Lupin, the gentleman burglar still in the making under the pen of Maurice Leblanc, his myth will only grow with time.

"The biggest scam of all time"

How did this woman with a slight pronunciation defect – a lisp… seductive – seduce her son? The future Keeper of the Seals Gustave Humbert struggles to conceive it. Eccentricity. The charm of his fabrications, no doubt. And perhaps also this "rich godfather" that she praises all the time. He is still unaware that this unconventional daughter-in-law will irreparably taint his dear surname, delivering it to posterity under the heading "biggest scam of all time".

In 1883, five years after her marriage in Beauzelle (Haute-Garonne) and her introduction into good society, Thérèse Humbert experienced her father's precepts for the first time. "When we don't have our own money, we tear it out of the pockets of the wealthy." Even if it means freeing oneself from any rule of ethics. Even the penal code.

Also read

Robert Crawford, the imaginary millionaire

This is how she began to spread a rumor in the circle of her wealthy friends: a man named Robert Crawford, an American millionaire by trade, the has designated universal legatee of his property. A huge fortune. But as another will mentions the magnate's two nephews, justice was seized. Thérèse displays unfailing confidence: the law designates her and she will soon receive the sum of 100 million gold francs in bearer bonds. The equivalent of 480 million current euros! The American dream in solid gold.

Needless to say, the said Crawford exists only in Thérèse’s fertile imagination. But his wealthy friends, lured by the association of such a powerful heiress - you never know, it can always come in handy - willingly agree to lend him enough to cover his lavish expenses. Because the adventurer's genius idea is to authenticate the existence of the Crawford nephews - in reality, her own brothers, Emile and Romain! – through a (fake) legal battle. And this, for almost twenty years.

Country house(s), yacht, luxury clothes

Thérèse Humbert case. How the scam of the century was matured by a woman, near Toulouse

In total, the Humbert couple – whose husband converted to his wife’s shenanigans – borrowed 50 million francs. And invest without counting. Country house(s) (Paris, Toulon, Tunisia…), castle in Seine-et-Marne, yacht, designer clothes… Nothing is too good to consolidate its place within the elite.

The dinners served in the private mansion on the avenue de la Grande-Armée bring together all that the capital has to offer from public figures, politicians, magistrates, senior officials from the triumphant 3th Republic . The promise of inheritance dazzles creditors. Until it blinds them.

Then Thérèse went into business. She creates a savings company, “La rente vieagère”, which promises miraculous returns to all savers wishing to make their savings grow. The Panama scandal where thousands of small carriers were fleeced during the drilling of the famous canal is not so far away. But the greed is a powerful narcoleptic. And Thérèse rides him like the (fake) uncle of America would ride a mustang from the plains of Idaho.

Also read

A perfect cavalry scheme

Thirty years before it passed on to posterity as the "Ponzi scheme", it developed the perfect cavalry scheme. Raising ever more funds, and offering interest to the oldest investors with the capital drawn from the most recent. As long as new gogos bite the bait, the system (admittedly eminently wobbly) continues. But one day or another, the pyramid ends up collapsing.

L'Assiette au Beurre mocks justice (and the trial)

Caricaturists took up the Humbert affair, which in their eyes symbolized the excesses of an era . Those of unbridled capitalism. Close to libertarian circles, the satirical weekly L'Assiette au Beurre devoted several front pages - even entire issues - to the trial of Grande Thérèse and her fraternal accomplices. To better mock justice. Witness this dialogue as tasty as it is surreal (but perhaps not that much) between the presiding judge and the defendant, in the edition of August 15, 1903: The president: Tell us about the safe. Mrs. Humbert: I eat an egg every night. The President: Very well; now tell us about the Crawfords. Mrs. Humbert: I only sleep an hour a night. The President: Very well; let's talk about the Life Annuity. Mrs. Humbert: I'm so nervous. The President: Fine! Finally, are you going to be able to repay the millions? Mrs. Humbert: I can no longer hear...

Twenty years after having sprung from his mind, the lie of the made-in-USA heritage seems durably anchored in the speculative domain. And the grain of sand appears. A journalist from Le Matin, François Mouthon, suggests aloud what has been going on behind the scenes for some time: scam.

The French authorities are conducting an investigation. Justice orders the opening of the Humbert safe, supposed to contain the Crawford will, to dispel all doubts.

Also read

The cartoonists go wild with their rabbit

Return to the initial scene. The chubby little Bourbon with the long-awaited aquiline profile reveals himself as a skinny mongrel with coarse features. When the door finally opens, the safe reveals, according to legend, only a brick and a halfpenny coin. More likely it is empty. The greatest caricaturists will seize this mythical moment by adding a… rabbit. Symbol of the scam of the century.

The Humberts fled to Spain before the Berezina. They were finally arrested in Madrid in December 1902, betrayed by a neighbor who recognized them. Thérèse's brothers are part of the dragnet. The very people who gave credibility to his fable by playing the famous Crawford nephews lying on the second testament. The great art of showing off.

Also read

She becomes "the Great Thérèse"

The widely circulated press seizes on the affair and will turn it into a lucrative legal soap opera. With her eloquence, her cheek, and her propensity to have plucked people not really in need, the kid from Toulouse earned a popular nickname (almost laudatory) that the tsarists would not deny: the Great Therese.

During the trial, his lawyer was that of Dreyfus, the famous Semitic captain of the French army, wrongly convicted of high treason and bound hand and foot to the horrors of the Guiana prison. Me Labori obtains for the couple a judgement, let's say, lenient: 5 years of imprisonment. After embezzling the equivalent of 480 million euros? Thérèse (Daurignac) Humbert's ultimate scam. Perhaps the most unlikely.

When and where did the crook of the century die? His name appears in dictionaries and encyclopedias. In 1983, the immense Simone Signoret, Cesarean and Oscar-winning actress, lent her features in a biopic. The mystery that surrounds the end of the Great Thérèse is revealed at the height of her exceptional destiny. According to some sources, she emigrated to the United States at the end of her sentence and died in Chicago in 1918. An investigation published in Detective magazine in 1930, by Jean France, assured her still alive: " Thérèse Humbert still lives small, in Paris. She lost her miraculous vitality. What setbacks has the golden past left him with? She is a rather humble old woman, who never speaks.

Sources: The greatest gangsters and criminals (Prisma Médias), Wikipedia, Detective, Le Petit Journal Illustré…

Was this article useful to you? Note that you can follow Actu Toulouse in the My Actu space. In one click, after registration, you will find all the news of your favorite cities and brands.

Share

News Toulouse
See my news

Affaire Thérèse Humbert. Comment l’arnaque du siècle a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse

Affaire Thérèse Humbert. Comment l’arnaque du siècle a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse
02/12/2022 Par acomputer 129 Vues

Affaire Thérèse Humbert. Comment l’arnaque du siècle a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse

Par Laurent DernePublié le
Actu Toulouse
Voir mon actu

Notre série sur les grandes affaires criminelles et judiciaires d'Occitanie

Jusqu'à dimanche, nous vous amenons au coeur de grandes affaires criminelles et judiciaires d'Occitanie. Voici le premier volet de cette série, consacré à l'affaire Thérèse Humbert, l’arnaque du siècle qui a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse. Ce jeudi, nous vous raconterons l'affaire Martin Guerre qui s'est déroulée en Ariège. Bonne lecture !Affaire Thérèse Humbert. Comment l’arnaque du siècle a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse Affaire Thérèse Humbert. Comment l’arnaque du siècle a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse

Jamais sans doute, ouverture de coffre n’aura été autant épiée. On jurerait l’accouchement d’une reine devant perpétuer la lignée des Bourbons sous les regards obliques et scrutateurs des courtisans du premier cercle.

À lire aussi

Tous les yeux rivés sur un coffre-fort

Ce 2 mai 1902, ce ne sont pas juste quelques paires d’yeux d’auxiliaires de justice zélés qui se braquent sur l’épaisse porte blindée, mais bien la France entière.

Car si sa propriétaire a filé avant l’arrivée des policiers, la réputation, la renommée de Thérèse Humbert, en ont fait une figure reconnue du Tout Paris. Et à l’instar d’Arsène Lupin, le gentleman cambrioleur encore en gestation sous la plume de Maurice Leblanc, son mythe ne fera que s’amplifier avec le temps.

« La plus grande escroquerie de tous les temps »

Comment cette femme au léger défaut de prononciation – un zozotement… aguicheur – a-t-elle séduit son fils ? Le futur garde des Sceaux Gustave Humbert peine à le concevoir. L’excentricité. Le charme de ses affabulations, sans doute. Et peut-être aussi ce « parrain richissime » qu’elle vante à longueur de temps. Il ignore encore que cette bru peu conventionnelle entachera irrémédiablement son cher patronyme, le livrant à la postérité à la rubrique « plus grande escroquerie de tous les temps ».

En 1883, cinq ans après son mariage à Beauzelle (Haute-Garonne) et son introduction dans la bonne société, Thérèse Humbert éprouve pour la première fois les préceptes paternels. « Quand on ne possède pas d’argent propre, on l’arrache dans la poche des nantis ». Quitte à s’affranchir de toute règle de déontologie. Voire du code pénal.

À lire aussi

Robert Crawford, le millionnaire imaginaire

C’est ainsi qu’elle se met à répandre un bruit dans le cercle de ses intimes fortunés : un dénommé Robert Crawford, millionnaire américain de son état, l’a désignée légataire universelle de ses biens. Une fortune immense. Mais comme un autre testament mentionne les deux neveux du magnat, la justice a été saisie. Thérèse affiche une confiance sans faille : le droit la désigne et elle touchera bientôt la somme de 100 millions de francs or en bons au porteur. L’équivalent de 480 millions d’euros actuels ! Le rêve américain en or massif.

Inutile de préciser que ledit Crawford n’existe que dans l’imaginaire fécond de Thérèse. Mais ses riches amis, appâtés par la fréquentation d’une aussi puissante héritière – sait-on jamais, ça peut toujours servir -, consentent volontiers à lui prêter de quoi couvrir ses dépenses somptuaires. Car l’idée de génie de l’aventurière, est de faire authentifier l’existence des neveux Crawford – en réalité, ses propres frères, Emile et Romain ! – à travers une (fausse) bataille judiciaire. Et ce, durant près de vingt ans.

Maison(s) de campagne, yacht, vêtements de luxe

Affaire Thérèse Humbert. Comment l’arnaque du siècle a été mûrie par une femme, près de Toulouse

Au total, le couple Humbert – dont l’époux s’est converti aux magouilles de sa femme – emprunte 50 millions de francs. Et investit sans compter. Maison(s) de campagne (Paris, Toulon, Tunisie…), château en Seine-et-Marne, yacht, vêtements griffés… Rien n’est trop beau pour conforter sa place au sein du gotha.

Les dîners servis dans l’hôtel particulier de l’avenue de la Grande-Armée rassemblent tout ce que la capitale compte de personnalités publiques, politiques, magistrats, hauts fonctionnaires de la 3e République triomphante. La promesse de l’héritage éblouit les créanciers. Jusqu’à les aveugler.

Puis Thérèse se lance dans les affaires. Elle crée une société d’épargne, « La rente viagère », qui promet des rendements mirobolants à tous les épargnants désirant faire fructifier leurs économies. Le scandale de Panama où des milliers de petits porteurs se sont fait plumer lors du percement du fameux canal n’est pas si lointain. Mais l’appât du gain est un puissant narcoleptique. Et Thérèse le chevauche comme le (fake) tonton d’Amérique le ferait d’un mustang des plaines de l’Idaho.

À lire aussi

Un parfait système de cavalerie

Trente ans avant qu’il ne passe à la postérité sous le nom de « chaîne de Ponzi », elle développe le parfait système de cavalerie. Levant toujours plus de fonds, et offrant des intérêts aux plus anciens investisseurs avec les capitaux soutirés aux plus récents. Tant que de nouveaux gogos mordent à l’hameçon, le système (certes éminemment bancal) perdure. Mais un jour ou l’autre, la pyramide finit par s’effondrer.

L'Assiette au Beurre brocarde la justice (et le procès)

Les caricaturistes se sont emparés de l'affaire Humbert qui symbolisait à leurs yeux les dérives d'une époque. Celles d'un capitalisme effréné. Proche des milieux libertaires, l'hebdomadaire satirique L'Assiette au Beurre a consacré plusieurs unes - voire numéros entiers - au procès de la Grande Thérèse et de ses fraternels complices. Pour mieux brocarder la justice. Témoin ce dialogue aussi savoureux que surréaliste (mais peut-être pas tant que ça) entre le président d'audience et la prévenue, dans l'édition du 15 août 1903 :Le président : Parlez-nous du coffre-fort.Mme Humbert : Je mange un œuf tous les soirs.Le président : Fort bien ; maintenant, parlez-nous des Crawford.Mme Humbert : Je ne dors qu'une heure par nuit.Le président : Fort bien ; parlons de la Rente viagère.Mme Humbert : Je suis si nerveuse.Le président : Fort bien ! Enfin, vous allez pouvoir rembourser les millions ?Mme Humbert : Je n'entends plus...

Vingt ans après avoir surgi de son esprit, le mensonge de l’héritage made in USA semble durablement ancré dans le domaine spéculatif. Et le grain de sable apparaît. Un journaliste du Matin, François Mouthon, suggère à voix haute ce dont la coulisse bruit depuis quelques temps : escroquerie.

Les autorités françaises diligentent une enquête. La justice ordonne l’ouverture du coffre des Humbert, sensé receler le testament Crawford, pour dissiper tous les doutes.

À lire aussi

Les caricaturistes se déchaînent avec leur lapin

Retour à la scène initiale. Le petit Bourbon joufflu au profil aquilin tant attendu se révèle sous les traits d’un bâtard maigrelet aux traits grossiers. Lorsque la porte s’ouvre enfin, le coffre-fort ne révèle, selon la légende, qu’une brique et une pièce d’un demi-penny. Plus vraisemblablement est-il vide. Les plus grands caricaturistes s’empareront de ce moment mythique en y ajoutant un… lapin. Symbole de l’arnaque du siècle.

Les Humbert, eux, ont fui en Espagne avant la Bérézina. Ils sont finalement arrêtés à Madrid, en décembre 1902, trahis par un voisin qui les a reconnus. Les frères de Thérèse font partie du coup de filet. Ceux-là mêmes qui crédibilisaient sa fable en jouant à l’envi les fameux neveux Crawford couchés sur le second testament. Le grand art de l’esbrouffe.

À lire aussi

Elle devient « la Grande Thérèse »

La presse à fort tirage s’empare de l’affaire et en tirera un lucratif feuilleton judiciaire. Avec sa faconde, son culot, et sa propension à avoir plumé des gens pas vraiment dans le besoin, la gamine de Toulouse gagne un surnom populaire (quasi laudateur) que les tsaristes ne renieraient pas : la Grande Thérèse.

Lors du procès, son avocat est celui de Dreyfus, le fameux capitaine sémite de l’armée française, condamné à tort pour haute trahison et livré pieds et poings liés aux affres du bagne guyanais. Me Labori obtient pour le couple un jugement, disons, clément : 5 ans de réclusion. Après avoir détourné l’équivalent de 480 millions d’euros ? L’ultime arnaque de Thérèse (Daurignac) Humbert. Peut-être la plus improbable.

Quand et où l’escroc du siècle est-elle morte ? Son nom figure dans les dictionnaires et les encyclopédies. En 1983, l’immense Simone Signoret, actrice césarisée et oscarisée, lui prêt ses traits dans un biopic. Le mystère qui entoure la fin de la Grande Thérèse se révèle à la hauteur de son destin exceptionnel. Selon certaines sources, elle aurait émigré aux Etats-Unis à l’issue de sa peine et serait morte à Chicago en 1918.Une enquête parue dans le magazine Détective en 1930, sous la plume de Jean France,l’assurait toujours vivante : « Thérèse Humbert vit toujours petitement, à Paris. Elle a perdu sa miraculeuse vitalité. Quels revers lui a laissés le passé d’or ? C’est une vieille femme assez humble, qui ne parle jamais ».

Sources : Les plus grands gangsters et criminels (Prisma Médias), Wikipédia, Détective, Le Petit Journal Illustré…

Cet article vous a été utile ? Sachez que vous pouvez suivre Actu Toulouse dans l’espace Mon Actu . En un clic, après inscription, vous y retrouverez toute l’actualité de vos villes et marques favorites.

Partagez

Actu Toulouse
Voir mon actu